Growing in the Twin Cities with Backyard Harvest

Building a sustainable (and delicious) urban food system – one yard at a time

Meet Our Farmers: Dina Kountoupes April 5, 2010

Filed under: Farmers — Krista Leraas @ 5:04 pm
Tags: , ,

Dina enjoys a good walk in the woods

I graduated from Macalester College in 1993 where I studied environmental issues and followed that interest immediately after college to work in environmental education centers around the nation: in California, Maine, Vermont, and Minnesota.  In 1996 I took my interest in the environment to the tropics of Costa Rica where I applied my Spanish skills to work at sustainable development research centers, sustainable farms, and environmental education centers. In 2000 I returned to the Twin Cities and began working in children’s garden programs, community gardens, and local nature centers while pursuing a Master’s degree at the University of Minnesota in environmental education, with a minor in sustainable agriculture.  After graduating I continued to work in my field writing curriculum for, and designing gardens for a Schoolyard garden ecology program where I had the opportunity to follow my passion of getting more kids outside to connect to the land, as well as enjoy and learn about nature.

 

3 Responses to “Meet Our Farmers: Dina Kountoupes”

  1. Evelyn (Mom) Kountoupes Says:

    What a wonderful job to have, Dina. The whole enterprise seems to be so well organized. But then, I’ve always loved the mind-set of the twin cities anyway! Backyard Harvest should be happy to have such a wonderful, knowledgeable “farmer” such as you ( the mother says in all humility)!

    • Krista Says:

      Hi Evelyn! How lovely to see your comment. Of course, we love your talented & hardworking daughter & feel lucky to have her working with us. Thanks for your kind words about Backyard Harvest too. I hope we’ll get to meet you some day soon!

      Krista

  2. Hi Dina! Your mom told my dad about PRI and he passed on your info. Very cool work. I have a house in Minneapolis and my wife and I have been slowly building up and nurturing a backyard food and flower garden.


Leave a Reply

