Growing in the Twin Cities with Backyard Harvest

Building a sustainable (and delicious) urban food system – one yard at a time

Meet Our Interns: Sarah Leone December 21, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Krista Leraas @ 1:10 pm
Tags:

I’m Sarah Leone and I’ve been an intern for Backyard Harvest since June 09 and if you were a customer this past season you’ve probably met me.  I’m in my final year at the U of M and will be graduating with an anthropology major and a history minor with a special focus on ecological anthropology.  Some of you may be wondering what that means, but basically anthropologists study culture and how people interact with others and ecological anthropology focuses on cultural attitudes toward, and perceptions of, the environment.

Since I have started this internship I’ve done a variety of things including data collection, interviewing customers, taking notes on meetings, and help in the evaluation process of Backyard Harvest.  I enjoy all the people I’ve met through this program and am excited to continue working with the program this coming year.  When I started with the program I didn’t know much about farming or permaculture, and I’m amazed at all that I’ve learned over the past months, both from those running the program and the customers, and I can’t wait to learn more!

 

Leave a Reply

