Growing in the Twin Cities with Backyard Harvest

Building a sustainable (and delicious) urban food system – one yard at a time

Meet Our Farmers: Grayce Backstrom July 21, 2009

Filed under: Farmers — Krista Leraas @ 3:36 pm
Tags: ,

Hello my fellow backyard gardeners,

Farmer Grayce enjoys a summer strawberry

Farmer Grayce enjoys a summer strawberry

I am the third and final urban farmer to post my personal/professional bio, so here’s a bit about myself that you might find interesting. I grew up on a small-scale farm in Southern Idaho where my family raised organic alfalfa, goats, chickens, pigs and a big vegetable garden. For my first paid job I worked on an organic market garden that was owned by a neighbor lady when I was 12, and since then most of my summers have been spent doing some sort of organic gardening.

After I graduated high school I moved to St. Peter, MN to attend Gustavus Adolphus College where I worked in the on-campus greenhouse and for the Environmental Studies office. When I graduated from Gustavus last spring I worked as a Garden Corps Assistant for the Community Design Center of Minnesota in Saint Paul. The CDC is a non-profit group aimed at fostering knowledge of local food and healthy living in youth, but more specifically, it is a summer program that manages seven gardens in East St. Paul and then sells the vegetables in a local CSA.

After my summer with the CDC I became even more dedicated to the idea of developing a local foods system and empowering people to grow their own food. I also knew that what I loved doing was working with plants and in the soil and fortunately I was able to find a job that allowed me to do all of those things.

I have really enjoyed my time with Backyard Harvest up to this point and eagerly look forward to the rest of this year’s growing season. I want to say thanks to all of you for continuing to build Minneapolis’s (and Saint Paul’s) local foods community and for giving a poor, garden-loving fool like me the opportunity to do what I love and actually make a living at it.

Thanks, Grayce

 

Leave a Reply

