Growing in the Twin Cities with Backyard Harvest

Building a sustainable (and delicious) urban food system – one yard at a time

Meet Our Farmers: Seth Schlotterbeck June 9, 2009

Filed under: Farmers — Town_Mouse-Country_Mouse @ 11:35 am
Tags: ,

My name is Seth Schlotterbeck & I am a freelance organic farmer who hails originally from Maine. After coming to

Farmer Seth at Easy Bean Farm

Farmer Seth at Easy Bean Farm

Minnesota to attend college, I have stuck around and been farming the fertile Midwestern soil here ever since. Coming off a three-year stint at Easy Bean Farm, a 250-member vegetable CSA farm in Milan, Minnesota, I moved to Minneapolis in December. At Easy Bean, in addition to helping manage farm operations, I also played my accordion in the wildly popular Mud Boots Crew marching band.

This season, in addition to my work with Backyard Harvest (which I am enjoying immensely), I also farm at Gardens of Eagan in Farmington, as well as helping manage the Mill City Farmer’s Market in downtown Minneapolis. While in the Cities, I hope to take advantage of the myriad offerings here, including accordion lessons, pick-up soccer games, potlucks with friends, biking around a lot, reading The Onion, being in a book club, and growing and sharing delicious food with as many people as possible.

If you ever have any questions about what varieties of vegetables to plant, ask me, I’m bound to have a strong, informed, and biased opinion (based on what I looove to grow and eat!) Some of my favorite vegetable varieties are Lily Crenshaw melons; Sungold, Jaune Flamé, Costoluto Genovese, and Hillbilly tomatoes; Mini White cucumbers (when they’ve reached their plump golden yellow stage), Striped Armenian cucumbers; and all the beautiful varieties of kale (especially the curly ones).

 

Leave a Reply

