Growing in the Twin Cities with Backyard Harvest

Building a sustainable (and delicious) urban food system – one yard at a time

Meet our farmers: Stefan Meyer May 27, 2009

Filed under: Farmers — myerthbiodesigns @ 8:49 pm
Tags: , ,
Planting Lisa's garden

Planting Lisa's garden

Hi! My name is Stefan Meyer, and I am one of three urban farmers working with PRI’s Backyard Harvest Program. I was raised on a family farm in southwest Minnesota, where we grew the traditional corn/soybeans in our fields and raised countless numbers of turkeys. (Worthington, MN, my hometown, is known as the Turkey Capitol of the World… a dubious distinction indeed!) On my farm we also had a large vegetable garden used to feed the family, and my mom used to can/freeze beans and corn, and made killer homemade pickles. This was my first introduction to food production, and has led me on the path I continue to this day.

The past 11 years I have spent living out in Oregon, where I studied and practiced permaculture and ecological agriculture/gardening methods. I went through the OSU Extension Service Master Composters program and their Organic Gardening certification course. As well, I attended the University of Oregon where I studied Environmental Science, with a focus on biological systems.

I am never happier than when I have my hands in the soil, working the Earth, and feeling the wind blow through my hair. I am thrilled to be a part of this exciting pilot project with PRI, and look forward to helping grow not just food, but community as well.

 

Leave a Reply

